You’ve Got To Be Kidding Right???

Icon

Random (and sometimes not so random) musings from a life that sometimes is but often times is NOT amusing….

Madeline Spohr

Who, exactly, is Madeline Spohr?

That was the question that my husband asked me this morning when I told him I was upset about Madeline Spohr passing away late last night. I hesitated before responding that I didn’t really KNOW the family in real life but I that I have twittering with Heather since I ‘drank the kool-aid’ and joined Twitter (and he knows that I haven’t been ‘at’  Twitter long)  but that I have been reading The Spohrs Are Multiplying for a while (in a valiant attempt at showing….well, I don’t know what I was trying to show).   Hubby promptly looked at me like I was nuts (which is nothing strange I might add) and said that he just didn’t understand why I felt like I ‘knew’ people whom I only communicated with over the internet.

After much argument about the question: “How do you define ‘know’? I had to admit that I don’t really know Heather, Mike, or Maddie.

Or do I?

What is there to know about Heather other than her wit, her love for her family, and her frustration over the medical system that I need to KNOW before I can call her a friend?  I mean, as a fellow parent of a preemie, doesn’t that alone give us the right to bypass all of the superficial shit and go straight to commiserating? After receiving the tweet last night with Maddie’s status I had an uneasy feeling. At midnight or so I tweeted someone who I thought might have an update…no response. I was hoping beyond hope that when I woke up this morning I would see a tweet that was along the lines of “man that was a pain in the ass but Maddie is doing great now” but I didn’t.

Instead I saw this:

Madeline: http://tinyurl.com/dgfpbp

Tears began to stream down my face – they have continued to do so every so often throughout today.

So, to ask the question from this morning again: “Do I know Heather, Mike, and Maddie?”

Yes, yes I do, regardless of anyone who feels otherwise.  Know that today I am thinking of you all and *wishing* desperately that bad things didn’t happen.  I may not ‘know’ you in real life but as someone who had read your posts during and after your pregnancy I’ve grown to feel like I ‘know’ you – and I’m heartbroken.

Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Responses

  1. alegna75 says:

    I think anyone who has taken the time to stalk a blog repeatedly comes to “know” a family. I had been quite taken with Mike’s blog and his posts about Maddie just stole my heart. I have been bawling my eyes out and I have never met any one of them in person. I am trying to help them raise funds for the funeral and I intend on mailing a condolence card to the funeral home today. If that makes me nuts, so be it!

  2. Ames says:

    I too am totally devastated for this family who I’ve never met in real life. My heart just breaks for them.

Leave a Reply

Remembering Maddie

The March Of Dimes ROCKS

Save Babies From Premature Birth
