You’ve Got To Be Kidding Right???

Icon

Random (and sometimes not so random) musings from a life that sometimes is but often times is NOT amusing….

Here We Go…

Although many people in recovery will tell you that it’s not a good sign not to able to discuss it freely I’ve found that for me, admitting or discussing that I am in recovery is very difficult.  In fact, it’s down right excruciating.  Think I’ve overreacting?  Try telling someone that you are/were an alcoholic and then look at their face.

This is especially true for women.  When I was first sober I looked around for blogs that discussed women and their sobriety yet dealt with it in a family centered fashion allowing me to see that it could be done, that it was being done, and gave me *something* to hold onto that eventually life would become ‘normal’ again (whatever that means).   I have yet to find it.

Thus, the purpose of this blog.

If there are specifics you wish to know go to the About page although be forewarned that my picture will not appear (mostly because right now I take horrible pictures but also for the sake of my children and my husband).  To get the cast of players I’ll outline them in the About section as well.

But to tell you ‘About Me’ in four easy sentences:

I am a wife.

I am a mom.

I am a professional working in a VERY conservative industry.

And…I am a very grateful recovering alcoholic.

If you think this is an isolated problem the think again.  Below are excerpts that show just how deep the problem permeates into society and how drinking changes due to age and time of life:

It is estimated that of the 15.1 million alcohol-abusing or alcohol-dependent individuals in the United States, approximately 4.6 million (nearly one-third) are women (1).

(1)    WILLIAMS, G.D.; Grant, B.F.; Harford, T.C.; and Noble, B.A. Population projections using DSM-III criteria: Alcohol abuse and dependence, 1990-2000. Alcohol Health & Research World 13(4):366-370, 1989.

Drinking behavior differs with the age, life role, and marital status of women. In general, a woman’s drinking resembles that of her husband, siblings, or close friends (3). Whereas younger women (aged 18-34) report higher rates of drinking-related problems than do older women (3,4), the incidence of alcohol dependence is greater among middle-aged women (aged 35-49) (5)

(2)    WILSNACK, R.W.; Wilsnack, S.C.; and Klassen, A.D., Jr. Women’s drinking and drinking problems: Patterns from a 1981 national survey. American Journal of Public Health 74(11):1231-1238, 1984. (4) HILTON, M.E. Drinking patterns and drinking problems in 1984: Results from a general population survey. Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research 11(2):167-175, 1987. (5) WILLIAMS, G.D.; Stinson, F.S.; Parker, D.A.; Harford; T.C.; and Noble, J. Demographic trends, alcohol abuse and alcoholism, 1985-1995. Alcohol Health & Research World 11(3):80-83, 91, 1987.

So, as Oprah says:  “Here We Go”  (and note:  I will not refer to Oprah again…except perhaps in a tacky fashion).

Filed under: Uncategorized

One Response

  1. Leslie says:

    You go girl!!

Leave a Reply

Remembering Maddie

The March Of Dimes ROCKS

Save Babies From Premature Birth
